Margaret Rutherford

Margaret RutherfordBorn: 11 May 1892
Died: 22 May 1972








Academy Award winning actress Margaret Rutherford was born on this day in 1892.

She made her film debut in Dusty Ermine (1936) but didn’t come to prominence until her role as Madame Arcati in Blithe Spirit (1945), a role that established her screen success.

Rutherford would go on to appear in films such as Passport to Pimlico (1949), The Happiest Days of Your Life (1950) and The Importance of Being Earnest (1952) in both cases reprising her successful stage roles.

She appeared in comedies such as Trouble in Store (1953) with Norman Wisdom, An Alligator Named Daisy (1955) with Donald Sinden and Diana Dors, The Smallest Show on Earth (1957) with Virginia McKenna and Peter Sellers and the star studded I’m All Right Jack (1959).

In the 1960s Rutherford took on the role of Miss Marple in a series of Agatha Christie adaptations from director George Pollock. These included Murder, She Said (1961), Murder at the Gallop (1963), Murder Most Foul (1964) and Murder Ahoy (1964).

In 1963 the role of the absent-minded Duchess of Brighton in The V.I.P.s earned her the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress, starring alongside Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton.

Amongst her final films were Orson WellesChimes at Midnight (1965) and A Countess from Hong Kong (1967), directed by Charlie Chaplin.

Read more at The Internet Movie Database

On This Day…



eXTReMe Tracker